Guilt, Not Grief ~ Jeanann Verlee

Today’s daily dose of poetry is a little…necessary. For those moments when someone just pushes you right over the edge, ‘Grief, Not Guilt’ by the incredible Jeanann Verlee has a classy insult for every conceivable moment! Read it in full…then dive right into her body of work — trust us, it’s just as wonderful!

Grief, Not Guilt (Jeanann Verlee)

I wish you a tongue scalded by tea.
A hangover. Burnt toast. Stubbed toes. A lost job.
I wish you weeping in the shower. Salt in the sugar bowl.
A wishlist of sorrows. Grief, not guilt.
Hole in your favorite coat. Stain on the good suit.
Arthritis for your joints. A broken guitar string at every show.
I wish each breath a little harder. Each workday
an hour longer. I wish your heart a thousand breaks.
All your sports teams, bottom rank. I wish your friends
go quiet. The leaves brown above your head.
A thunderstorm every morning. Nothing but pearls
when you shop for her diamond. I wish you bad knees,
a sore back. Empty sheets. A ghost to haunt your house.
A tub brimming with mud. Closet stuffed with too-small shoes.
Flat beer. Sour milk. Weak coffee. I wish you
flat tires, soggy pasta, a tax audit to fail.
Bent forks, dull knives. A hangnail for every finger.
I wish you a room wallpapered with my photographs.
A chamber filled with empty bassinets.

Verlee has just published a new collection with Black Lawrence press. Prey is available to order hereVerlee_prey_front+cover_FINAL.

Follow her and her work here.

 

Leave a comment